USEFUL LINKS

 

  1. Museum Resources:

 

http://www.artcyclopedia.com/museums-int.html

  • ARTslanT – A large collection of art, museums, and news on art exhibitions.

https://www.artslant.com/ew

  • Artcyclopedia, a search engine that locates web information on 5,000+ artists.

http://www.artcyclopedia.com/

  • Chicago Art Map – This site has a map to all art galleries and museums in Chicago as well as links to the galleries.

 

http://chicagoartmap.com/

  • The Electric Gallery, with many galleries. A unique collection of artworks. While many of these 200+ artists hang in prestigious museums, others are as yet relatively unknown. Specializing in Haitian art.

http://www.egallery.com/

Home

https://www.bergerfoundation.ch/picasa/jeb.html

http://wwar.com/museums.html

  1. Incredible Art Museums:

https://www.incredibleart.org/links/museums.html#1 (Museums in Europe, Museums and Galleries Around the World, Cultural Galleries, Speciality Galleries and Museums)

 

  • Journals

The most useful sources of current practice and theory are the journals. The main international journals are:

Curator: The Museum Journal (hard copy only)

International Journal of Heritage Studies

Journal of the History of Collections

Journal of Material Culture

Museum Anthropology

Museum History Journal

Museum International (formerly Museum, published by UNESCO)

Museum and Society (www.le.ac.uk/ms/museumsociety.html)

Museum Management and Curatorship (formerly International Journal of Museum Management and Curatorship)

Museums Journal and Museum Practice (UK)

Museum News and History News (USA)

Muse (Canada)

Journal of Education in Museums

 

  1. Other Online Sources

American Alliance of Museums (formerly American Association of Museums – www.aamus.org/

American Institute for Conservation – www.conservation-us.org

Canadian Conservation Institute – www.cci-icc.gc.ca/

Canadian Heritage Information Network – www.chin.gc.ca

Collections Link – www.collectionslink.org.uk/

Collections Trust – www.collectionstrust.org.uk/

Conservation Register – www.conservationregister.com/index.asp

Cornucopia (collections in English museums) – www.cornucopia.org.uk/

Culture 24 – www.culture24.org.uk/home

Global Museum (webzine with an eclectic range of topics) – www.globalmuseum.org

Group for Education in Museums – www.gem.org.uk/

Institute for Conservation – www.icon.org.uk/

International Council of Museums (ICOM) – http://icom.museum/

Museum Ethnographers Group – www.museumethnographersgroup.org.uk/

Museums Association – www.museumsassociation.org/ Museums,

Libraries & Archives Council (MLA) – www.mla.gov.uk/

Natural Sciences Collections Association – http://natsca.myspecies.info/

Smithsonian Institution – www.si.edu/

Visitor Studies Group – http://visitors.org.uk/

Visitor Studies Association – http://www.visitorstudies.org/

Leicester Museum Jobs Desk – www.le.ac.uk/ms/jobs/job_titles_jobid.htm

Material World blog – www.materialworldblog.com